Posted in General on July 21, 2021
Speeding Tickets in Rhode Island
Traffic violations, including speeding tickets, are common. However, speeding tickets can have significant and enduring consequences which is why it is important to hire an experienced Rhode Island traffic offense lawyer!
Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) § 31-41.1-4 outlines all penalties for traffic violations, including speeding tickets.
Speeding Ticket Penalties
- Speeding 1-10 mph over -> $95.00 fine
- Speeding 11+ mph over -> $95.00 fine + additional fine of $10.00 per every mile over
- Speeding 1-10 mph over, if within 12 months of the first offense -> $95.00 fine + additional fine of $10.00 per every mile over
- Speeding 11+ mph over, if within 12 months of the first offense -> $95.00 fine + additional fine of $15.00 per every mile over
- Speeding 1-10 mph over, if within 12 months of the subsequent offense -> $95.00 fine + $15.00 per every mile over + possible license suspension of up to 30 days
- Speeding 11+ mph over, if within 12 months of the subsequent offense -> $95.00 fine + $20.00 per every mile over + possible license suspension of up to 60 days
- If you receive a fourth speeding ticket within 18 months of the subsequent offense, you are facing potential Colin Foote penalties. These penalties are much harsher and include:
- A fine of up to $1,000.00;
- 60 hours of driver retraining classes;
- 60 hours of community service;
- License suspension for up to one (1) year; and/or
- License revocation for up to two (2) years
Can you use Rhode Island’s Good Driving Statute for a speeding ticket?
Yes. Under RIGL § 31-41.1-7, you can request a dismissal based on your good driving record if you do not have any traffic violations within the prior 3 years. If you do not have a Rhode Island driver’s license, you must obtain and provide to the Court a valid copy of your clean driving record from the state in which you are licensed. If your speeding ticket is dismissed pursuant to Rhode Island’s Good Driving Statute, you must pay $65.25 in mandatory court costs (which cannot be waived).
However, you cannot utilize this Statute if:
- You have not had your driver’s license for a period of 3 years;
- Violation accompanies a refusal to submit to a chemical test of breath, blood, or urine;
- Violation involves a school bus;
- Violation involves an accident;
- Speeding 14 mph above the posted speed limit;
- Violation involves child restraints pursuant to RIGL § 31-22-22; or
- You are a CDL holder or were operating a CMV at the time of the violation
Is a “Reasonable and Prudent Speeds” ticket the same as a speeding ticket?
RIGL § 31-14-1 states:
No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing. In every event, speed shall be so controlled as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle, or other conveyance on or entering the highway in compliance with legal requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care.
This traffic violation differs from a speeding ticket in that you do not need to actually be “speeding” to get a “Reasonable and Prudent Speeds” ticket. A police officer may ticket you under this Statute where it appears you were traveling at a speed limit that does not seem reasonable or prudent for the given conditions. Many people get these tickets during snowstorms or other times of low visibility.
The penalty is always a $95.00 fine.
If you or a loved one needs legal assistance for a Rhode Island speeding ticket, our attorneys at the Law Offices of Stefanie A. Murphy, LLC can help! Call us now to learn more.