Should I get a lawyer for first time DUI?

In the state of Rhode Island, a first time DUI (Driving Under the Influence) charge with no injuries tends to be a misdemeanor. Even though the charge may be a misdemeanor the charge is still a criminal offense and can result in imprisonment for up to one (1) year and hefty fines that vary depending on whether it is your first or subsequent alcohol-related offense.

Do DUI lawyers take payments? – What if I can’t afford an attorney for DUI?

If a person is facing criminal charges in general, but specifically for a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), a person has a right to representation, whether the representation is hired or not.

Five Ways to Beat a DUI Refusal or OUI

As a Rhode Island DUI attorney, I am frequently asked about ways to beat a DUI. While there is a lot of information regarding this topic, I have chosen the top five ways to beat a DUI refusal or OUI: 1. Don’t Provide Additional Information At the time of the stop, do not provide any… read more

DUI’s and Refusals – FAQ’s

DUI’s and Refusals – Frequently Asked Questions What happens right after I am arrested and brought to the police station? In most cases, the police department who arrested you will release you to a sober adult, either with a bail commissioner setting bail or with a summons to appear in court.  Either way, you will… read more

How do I get an interlock installed?

The first step is to contact one of the interlock companies that operate in the State of Rhode Island and set up an account with them. Here is the list of companies and the contact information. – A LifeSafer of RI– 1-800-634-3077 -1A Smart Start, LLC – 1-844-357-9273 – A & A Interlock – 1-800-749-7791… read more

DUI’s Explained – Learn everything you need to know about DUI’s

Substance-impaired driving is illegal and dangerous, and Rhode Island takes drunk driving very seriously. No matter the substance that has caused your impairment, the consequences of a DUI conviction can be extreme. But before we get started, you need to know the difference between DWI, DUI, OWI and OUI. 

Have you been pulled over and ticketed for violating a Rhode Island traffic law?

Have you been pulled over and ticketed for violating a Rhode Island traffic law?  Stefanie Murphy can help resolve these matters in a favorable way.  If you have violated any of the following traffic laws, keep reading to see how Stefanie Murphy can help.  Speeding  Turn signal violation  Traffic device violation  Reckless driving   Presence of alcohol  Failure to wear seat belt  Driving… read more

$500 UBER Gift Card St. Paddy’s Day Giveaway

Help Get Out the Word to Prevent DUIs in Rhode Island   As a Rhode Island DUI lawyer, I have been working on DUI cases for nearly 15 years and have seen first hand how drastically they can affect someone’s life. The fines can be as much at $2000 or more and the drivers’ license… read more

Rhode Island DUI Trial Process

Every DUI starts with an arrest.  The police or justice of the peace will provide the motorist with papers that contain the court dates. If you were charged with refusal or traffic offenses, you will have a separate court date for those offenses. Rhode Island Arraignment or Re-Arraignment In regard to a DUI charge, your… read more

What Happens If You Refuse a Breathalyzer Test?

If you refuse the Breathalyzer test, it will most likely result in the suspension of your license after the refusal arraignment but prior to any hearing of your case. The truth of the matter is that a refusal case is difficult to win. Before you refuse a Breathalyzer test, learn more about your circumstances and… read more

What Happens During a Field Sobriety Test?

Many times when a person is pulled over and the officer is trying to determine whether a motorist is under the influence of alcohol or drugs the officer will conduct field sobriety tests. Although there are three standardized field sobriety tests that are part of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration manual (NHTSA Manual), there… read more

Should You Take a Breathalyzer Test?

When you are stopped by a police officer in Rhode Island for suspected drunk driving, you may be asked to take a Breathalyzer test. Should you refuse? The natural right to be free from self-incrimination would insist that “yes”, you should refuse. But Rhode Island is an “implied consent” state, meaning that one is assumed… read more