Sex Crimes Against Children in Rhode Island
Posted in General on March 16, 2020
At the Law Offices of Stefanie A. Murphy, we have successfully defended clients against sex crimes against children such as:
- Child molestation
- Indecent solicitation of a child
- Child pornography
- Exploitation of a child for immoral purposes
In Rhode Island, child molestation is categorized based on degree of severity. What degree you are charged with depends on many factors such as the nature of the assault and the age of the child.
First-degree child molestation refers to sexual penetration of a child who is fourteen (14) years old or under. The punishment for this offense ranges anywhere from twenty-five (25) years to life in prison and if paroled or placed on probation, potentially monitored by GPS for life.
Second-degree child molestation refers to sexual contact, without penetration, with a child who is fourteen (14) years old or under. The punishment for this offense ranges anywhere from six (6) to thirty (30) years in prison.
Indecent Solicitation of a Child
Indecent solicitation of a child refers to knowingly soliciting a person under eighteen (18) years old—or whom s/he believes is a person under eighteen (18) years old—for the purpose of engaging in prostitution. “Solicitation” means to command, authorize, urge, incite, request, or advise another to perform an act via phone, in person, writing, online, or by advertisement of any kind.
The punishment for this offense carries at least five (5) years in prison.
Child pornography refers to any visual depiction of a minor engaging in sexually explicit conduct. The statute defines “minor” as any person who is under eighteen (18) years old.
Producing, reproducing, or delivering child pornography carries up to fifteen (15) years in prison and/or up to a $5,000 fine. Possessing child pornography carries up to five (5) years in prison and/or up to a $5,000 fine.
Exploitation of a child for immoral purposes
Exploitation of a child for immoral purposes refers to allowing a child to be used in any media form to suggest that the child is engaging in any sexual act.
The punishment for a first-time offense carries up to ten (10) years in prison and/or up to a $10,000 fine. Any subsequent offense carries up to fifteen (15) years in prison and/or up to a $15,000 fine. Using/employing a minor for prostitution or “any other lewd or indecent act” carries up to twenty (20) years in prison and/or up to a $20,000 fine.
Unfortunately, being charged with a sex crime against a child in Rhode Island can have severe and long-lasting effects on your reputation, job, friends, and family—even if you are completely innocent. That is why you need a skilled Rhode Island criminal defense attorney that will fight for you every step of the way!
If you or a loved one has been charged with a sex crime against a child or any other serious felony, allow the Law Offices of Stefanie A. Murphy to guide you through the legal process.
For more information, contact Attorney Stefanie A. Murphy, Esq. for a FREE phone consultation at (401) 316-9423. Thank you!
RI Felony Assault Lawyer Stefanie A. Murphy defends individuals facing felony assault charges in Barrington, Bristol, Burrillville, Charlestown, Coventry, Cranston, Cumberland, East Greenwich, East Providence, Exeter, Foster, Glocester, Hopkinton, Jamestown, Johnston, Lincoln, Middletown, Narragansett, Newport, North Kingstown, North Providence, North Smithfield, Pawtucket, Portsmouth, Providence, Richmond, Scituate, Smithfield, South Kingstown, Tiverton, Warren, Warwick, Westerly, West Greenwich, West Warwick, Woonsocket.